Bill Which Increases Safety Measures Against Registered Sex Offenders on Governor’s Desk
San Diego, CA… Senator Ben Hueso today announced that Senate Bill 448 has made its way to the Governor’s office and is awaiting his signature. Senate Bill 448 provides stronger terms for use by law enforcement to combat online predators. This measure protects a voter approved initiative which requires all registered sex offenders who committed a felony sex offense and used the internet to commit the crime to disclose all internet identifiers to law enforcement.
“We must make every effort to protect people from the dangers of the internet and social media by requiring registered sex offenders that used the internet in the commission of their offense to report all identifiers that have the ability to directly message another individual,” expressed Senator Hueso. “We have learned that the internet has become extremely popular for sex crimes and we must take action to protect our children and take this growing problem very seriously. I urge Governor Brown to support this critical measure.”
In November of 2012, California voters overwhelmingly approved Proposition 35, also known as the Californians Against Sexual Exploitation Act (CASE Act). The Act is the most popular initiative in the State’s history with an overwhelming 81 percent support. In April 2015, the courts issued an opinion requiring the legislature to clarify a section of Proposition 35 or it would be struck down.
In just two years, California’s anti-trafficking task forces initiated 2,552 investigations, identified 1,277 victims and arrested 1,798 individuals. Of the total amount of individuals trafficked 72 percent were Americans.
Senate Bill 448 gives sex offenders 30 working days to turn in a new internet identifier. This requirement is aligned with the current requirement to provide a new home address. Sex offenders currently have 30 days to turn in a new home address, and failure to do so is a misdemeanor regardless of the original offense.
The Governor has until Friday, September 30, 2016 to sign or veto this measure.